A trip to the Dentist!

I’ve had one dentist my entire life so I’m used to the same routine and the same people. Fortunately for him but unfortunately for me, he retired a few months ago which means I have no dentist to return to. I decided to take advantage of a travel insurance plan that pays for dentistry and experience my first overseas dentist appointment.

For starters it was short! Apparently a typical teeth cleaning only lasts 15 minutes! I feel as though more goes on with your normal dentist due to occasional X-Rays or other general care items. My normal appointment is an hour in the States.

As I laid down on the chair, I realized they didn’t hand me a pair of sunglasses to help shield the bright light. As I was shutting my eyes though, a donut-shaped cloth was put over my face. The hole of course going over my mouth. The dark color of the cloth acted as a shade. I normally watch the dentist so this was a different experience as I anticipated what came next. The dentist and assistant were very nice and asked me all sorts of questions, in addition to explaining their next move.

The only problem I had with my experience was water being sprayed up my nose! Eventually the assistant realized what was going on and covered my nose more with the cloth. They didn’t floss my teeth which I something I’m used to.

Overall it was a “normal” experience – same tools, same type of music playing, and same friendly people! And they said I had great teeth and gum health!

Leave a Reply

