Singapore! Wandering to the waterfront

This is definitely the cleanest city I have visited in SE Asia! It definitely has some interesting laws but they do keep the city clean and safe.

I have a friend in Singapore so I was excited to spend the weekend of Thai Father’s Day visiting him. He lives right off of Orchard Street which is a busy shopping street. Since it was Christmas time, there were lights, decorations, and Christmas music everywhere. It made me really feel the “Spirit of Christmas” even though I was so far away from home and the temperature was in the 90s instead of around freezing.

IMG_7198.JPG

IMG_7200.JPG

For most of the trip I just wandered. I had plans to meet up with them for dinner or lunch so was on my own to just explore the neighborhoods. I wandered through Clarke Quay and Chinatown then down to the waterfront. I grew up surrounded by water so any city on the water makes me feel at home.

IMG_7149.JPG

IMG_7148.JPG

IMG_7150.JPG

IMG_7147.JPG

The centerpiece of the waterfront is the Marina Bay Sands hotel. It consists of three towers with what almost looks like a boat on the top connecting all three. At the top is a 360° viewing platform, a Ku De Ta, and the hotel pool. My friend commended that I grab a drink at Ku De Ta (this is a chain restaurant/bar prevalent in SE Asia) rather than paying for the viewing platform as it was the same view and same price but one got you a drink and a nice place to sit.

IMG_7157.JPG

IMG_7156.JPG

IMG_7168.JPG

Across the street was the Gardens by the Bay. Wow! Beautiful! It was an oasis within the city. There was a Christmas market setup in the center and it even “snowed” in the evenings. There is a sky bridge, a Flower Forest, and a Cloud Dome that you can pay to utilize. I simply walked around the gardens. I found a very random baby statue and other various garden spaces.

IMG_7167.JPG

IMG_7159.JPG

Leave a Reply

