Night Safari! Singapore

My friend recommended the Night Safari as a unique activity to do. I looked up the bus route and made my way out of the city.

The Night Safari is part of a multi-zoo complex that includes the Singapore Zoo, the River Safari, and the Night Safari. Night Safari claims to be the first wildlife park dedicated to nocturnal animals.

The Night Safari doesn’t open until late (7:30pm when I visited) since it showcases nocturnal animals. They have restaurants that open before so you are able to show up early and grab a bite to eat. There is also a fire and dance performance.

Animals in captivity is always controversial (more about that in an upcoming blog post) but there’s something so amazing about animals that is compelling.

The park had three main parts: a 30 minute live show, a tram that takes you through the park and animal enclosures, and walking trails through the exhibits.

Some notes from my visit:

– The tiger exhibit was sponsored by Tiger Balm.
– Some exhibits allows you to enter into netted enclosed habitats. My favorite was the bats! They caused a few shrieks from the human visitors as they flew around. But they were so intriguing.
– I watched a small-toothed palm civet stare down another civet who tried to cross the log that the first one was sitting on. You could just see the attitude in the stare.
– Pangolins are an animal I had never heard of until a few months ago when I saw a video online. They look like a mix of a sloth and an armadillo and are a species native to Singapore (and other places). They are very slow moving which can make them road kill. Unfortunately their skin and meat are used in traditional medicine so their future is in danger.

As I was getting ready to head back to the city (the park closes at 12:00 midnight), I debated my options – bus, cab, hitchhiking… When I discovered that the Night Safari sponsors a bus! It dropped me off right on Orchard Street and then it was a five minute walk to my friend.s house. So props to the Night Safari for sponsoring transportation options!

Unfortunately due to the nighttime nature of the park most of my photos are worthless but I do have this gem from the restroom.

Leave a Reply

