Som Tam (Green Papaya Salad)

At first I was skeptical of Som Tam. They said it was a papaya salad but I didn’t look like any papaya I had ever seen. It was white/green and shredded. It seemed to me that shredding papaya would result in a sticky wet mess. 

I discovered though that the shredded papaya comes from green papayas, picked long before they are ripe. With the mystery solved I began to embrace som tam, especially once I figured out how to tell them to make it NOT spicy! I prefer one chili in it, enough to give it some flavor but not make my mouth burn. 

A Thai friend brought us by her 

Leave a Reply

