Railay Bay

Beautiful Beaches and Relaxation. That was all I was looking for during my final week in Thailand. My school said we didn’t have to work the final week so after seeking advice from a friend and picking my destination I began to plan. 

Railay Bay is part of Krabi in Southern Thailand. A coworker had spoken about the area a lot and until I actually looked at photos of it I had no idea just how beautiful it was. Railay Bay is accessible only by long tail boat so I wouldn’t recommend it for anyone with mobility problems as arrival on the island can sometimes involve walking in the water. 

There is a lagoon and two viewpoints that one can climb up to. After looking at the start of the trail for the lagoon and a viewpoint I decided that I would just sit on the beach and read my book. It begins with an almost completely vertical ascent. A rope is available to help pull you up though. 

The area also has some small bars and restaurants. 90 percent of these establishments have a water view as the unique location allows one to see both the sunset and the sunrise. For instance, I stayed at the Railay Bay Resort which spanned the width of the land area. It took maybe 3 minutes to walk from one side to the other. 

There are three different beach areas. One on the east side that isn’t as great and then two on the west side. One on the west side is only accessible by boat or by following a path that begins on the east side of the island. There are a lot of monkeys along the path which follows the side of a big rock wall. At this beach there you can see the Phranang caves that contain numerous phallic statues as an ode to fertility and the protection of fishermen. 





Leave a Reply

